Almost Waste-Free: Thrift Store Dog Toys

Praise the Lord for ZanyGreenQuest, who recently commented on my post about waste-conscious dog ownership with the ingenious idea to search local thrift stores to find inexpensive pet toys. So that is exactly what we did last night!

We found a treasure trove of inexpensive used stuffed animals at the local

Disabled Veterans Charities

6343 San Fernando Rd
Glendale, CA 91201

Open: 10:00 am – 6:00 pm

Family and friends know that my dogs have a special love for stuffed toys, and specifically, the act of de-stuffing said toys. I haven’t been ready to shatter their dreams with our new quest to live waste-free, BUT this waste-conscious alternative to spending hundreds of dollars each each year on brand new dog toys is the best we’ve come up with so far! Take a look at our loot:

 

20150404_20283620150404_202856 20150404_20292120150404_202845 20150404_202927 11081245_10103362434610943_6074594088911849789_n

4 thoughts on “Almost Waste-Free: Thrift Store Dog Toys

  1. Jessie S. says:

    I do the same thing for my dog! I have a monthly Goodwill trip and I load up on stuffed animals. I have a big basket in the closet of preloved stuffed animals; such a good alternative to expensive dog toys!

  2. zanygreenquest says:

    Glad it worked out and the pups are happy!
    Many thrift stores get so many animals that they bale them and ship them off to somewhere. I don’t know if they get recycled or not. So everyone should of course buy as many stuffed animals for their pets as possible ( the dogs told me to say this 😀 )

  3. Michelle Millet says:

    For years my son chewed on his tee-shirts, making them unsuitable to pass on as he out grew them. I hated the idea of throwing them away, and have been looking for alternate uses. One is to cut them in wide strips and tie multiply knots in them, turning them into one of 75 pound labradoodles favorite toy!

Leave a Reply

