Homemade Gnocchi using Waste-free Ricotta

I’ve been having a hard time finding bulk bin pastas, which has been a bummer because we eat pasta 1-2 times per week. At first, I just stopped buying pasta and our small stash of store bought noodles slowly dwindled away until it was gone. In my desperation one week I brought myself to try homemade gnocchi (I don’t have a pasta maker). Admittedly, it wasn’t hard to make, but it was pretty time consuming for someone who doesn’t know what they’re doing. For a beginner, I would allow one full hour and a half, if also making your own ricotta. Without homemade ricotta, you can probably whip this dish up in 30 minutes.

My gnocchi turned out pretty good for my first time (I think), and I used my homemade pasta sauce and fresh parmesan to top things off with a side of swiss chard.

Here is what you need:

  • 1.5 cups of ricotta cheese (I made mine fresh!)
  • 2 cups of flour
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. fresh ground black pepper

Here is what I did:

  1. Combine ricotta, egg, salt, and pepper in mixing bowl
  2. Using a fork, slowly beat in 1.5 cups of the flour until you can form a ball of dough
  3. On a lightly floured surface kneed in the last 0.5 cups of flourIMG_0681
  4.  Divide the dough into eight smaller balls
  5. Gently roll out each ball with your hands to form one long noodle that is about the width of a finger (your little finger if you have big hands lol)IMG_0683
  6. Cut each noodle into 3/4th inch pieces and then poke the middle and pinch the sides of each piece. I also tried pressing the middle with a fork, but didn’t like the way they looked.
  7. Add your gnocchi pieces to boiling water and then remove them with a slotted spoon once they rise to the surface (3-5 minutes). Allow gnocchi to drain in a colander  before tossing them into a sauce of your choice.
  8. Enjoy!!!

IMG_0687IMG_0657

One thought on “Homemade Gnocchi using Waste-free Ricotta

Leave a Reply

