Patio Garden: What’s Growin’

I’ve been meaning to write this post for several months. I had a lot of high hopes and big expectations for my first patio gardening post. There are so many things to talk about, so many things one could focus on. But the post/posts were never getting written, so I just decided: screw it!

What follows are a few pictures and some random notes on what I have been able to grow (intentionally & unintentionally) on my shady north-facing patio. Later, in other posts, I may elaborate on specific plants or experiences…


Herbs

Herbs of all kinds are easy to grow and hard to kill. Specifically, mint, lemon balm, basil, rosemary and lavender are easily to grow on partial sun patios. I’ve also tried dill, chives, thyme, and cilantro!

20150417_184815-1

 

SucculentsSUCCULENTS

Also easy to grow/hard to kill. Succulents and aloe vera plants help give your patio garden a full and lively feel especially in dryer climates and during the “winter months” when not much is growing or you just want a little break  (in California).

20150625_085626

FLOWERS

My favorite patio flowers are fuschias, hydrangeas, teacup roses, sweet peas, lavender, and begonias. Each adds their own pop of color and unique shape/foliage if you want to cut and make floral + herb bouquets. I’ve also tried poppies and wildflowers on my patio with limited success due to my sunlight situation.


20150722_12203220140306_133849

veggies

VEGGIES/FRUIT

Tomatoes (accidental), squash plant (accidental), celery,  jalapeños, bell peppers, onions, garlic, and potatoes (accidental).

*What I mean by accidental is these plants started to sprout in my open air composting bins and then I transferred them into other containers where they were able to continue growing.

20150722_122015 20150722_122010 20150722_122002 20150722_121946

That’s all for now! I’ll try to revisit a few patio gardening basics (successes & failures) in the coming weeks as I hit ruts in my blogging output.

Until soon,

Leave a Reply

